Thursday, April 29, 2010

HAPPY TOWN: New Mystery Thriller Premieres April 28

A brutal murder unearths old mysteries in the quiet little town of Haplin, Minnesota when HAPPY TOWN premieres April 28 on /A (visit to confirm local broadcast times).
Airing Wednesdays at 10 p.m. ET/PT, the new, one-hour mystery thriller stars an ensemble cast including Sam Neill and Steven Weber and features multiple Canadians including Toronto-native and Gemini Award-nominee Sarah Gadon. Other recurring Canadian stars include Toronto-native Peter Outerbridge, Scarborough-born Dan Petronijevic, Timmins-native Natalie Brown, Sault Ste. Marie-born Joanna Douglas, and Nova Scotians Stephen McHattie and Steve Arbuckle. Shot in Port Hope, Ontario, HAPPY TOWN is anything but happy. Its a town where the past has come back to haunt it and where happy and terrifying collide.

In HAPPY TOWN, the residents of the sun-splashed town of Haplin, Minnesota, also known as Happy Town, have enjoyed an uneasy peace for the past five years, but that is about to change. Still haunted by a number of unsolved kidnappings, Haplin now faces a disturbing new crime that brings all of its unresolved fears to the surface. As the towns mysteries are revealed, many of its prominent citizens motives come under scrutiny as their own secrets and personalities are peeled back one layer at a time. Lauren German (A Walk to Remember), who plays Henley Boone, Haplins newest resident, describes the series as a blend between a supernatural show, thriller, and a murder mystery.

HAPPY TOWN co-stars Geoff Stults (7TH HEAVEN) as Tommy Conroy, Sam Neill (THE TUDORS, Jurassic Park) as Merritt Grieves, Lauren German as Henley Boone, Steven Weber (BROTHERS & SISTERS, WINGS) as John Haplin, Amy Acker (DOLLHOUSE) as Rachel Conroy, Toronto-native Sarah Gadon (BEING ERICA) as Georgia Bravin, Robert Wisdom (THE WIRE) as Roger Hobbs, Jay Paulson (OCTOBER ROAD) as Eli Root Beer Rogers and Ben Schnetzer (Bens Plan) as Andrew Haplin.

Recurring stars include Frances Conroy (SIX FEET UNDER) as Peggy Haplin, Abraham Benrubi (ER) as Big Dave Duncan, M.C. Gainey (LOST) as Sheriff Griffin Conroy, Peter Outerbridge (REGENESIS) as Dan Farmer, Warren Christie (OCTOBER ROAD) as Greggy Stiviletto, Dan Petronijevic (TOTAL DRAMA ISLAND) as Ronald Stiviletto, Natalie Brown (How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days) as Carol Haplin, Joanna Douglas (BEING ERICA) as Shell Jenkins, Stephen McHattie (Watchmen) as Carl Bravin, Steve Arbuckle (DARK ORACLE) as Baby Boy Stilviletto and Sophia Ewaniuk (NINETY-ONE) as Emma Conroy.
In the series premiere, In This Home on Ice (April 28), Henley Boone (Lauren German) has decided to take up residence in seemingly idyllic Haplin, just as a shocking murder occurs at the local pond. This horrific crime rekindles Happy Towns dark mysteries, including the whispers about an unknown, evil force that has come to be known as the Magic Man, who may be responsible for the past disappearances of Haplin residents. Tommy Conroy (Geoff Stults), a small town deputy and son of the long-time popular sheriff, must help solve the crime while easing the towns growing fears.

HAPPY TOWN is produced by ABC Studios. Josh Appelbaum (LIFE ON MARS, ALIAS, OCTOBER ROAD), Andre Nemec (LIFE ON MARS, ALIAS, OCTOBER ROAD) and Scott Rosenberg (LIFE ON MARS, OCTOBER ROAD) are executive producers. HAPPY TOWN is broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABCs selected HDTV format, with 5.1-channel surround sound and Spanish subtitles via secondary closed captioning.