Sunday, August 15, 2010

Dustin Johnson Penalized for Grounding Club in "Bunker"

Dustin Johnson Bunker Penalty
SHEBOYGAN, Wis. — Dustin Johnson turned his pencil upside down and began erasing his scorecard.

He'd already given one major championship away. He never got a chance to finish this one.

Johnson was knocked out of the playoff at the PGA Championship on Sunday after he was penalized two strokes for grounding his club in a bunker he didn't even realize existed. Instead of 71 to join Martin Kaymer and Bubba Watson in the three-hole playoff, he changed his score from a 5 to a 7 and signed for a 73 to tie for fifth.

"I don't know if I can describe it," said Johnson, who showered quickly and was on his way to the parking lot before Kaymer and Watson finished their first hole. "If it was up to me, I wouldn't have thought I was in a bunker. But it's not up to me."

It was the cruelest ruling at a major since Roberto de Vicenzo accidentally signed for a higher score at the 1968 Masters, and the victory went to Bob Goalby.

And it was yet another major heartbreak for Johnson.

The 26-year-old was the third-round leader at the U.S. Open, only to have a complete meltdown Sunday and shoot 82. It was the highest score in the U.S. Open by a 54-hole leader since Fred McLeod shot 83 at Chicago Golf Club in 1911. It was also Johnson's worst score as a professional.

He insisted he wouldn't let the collapse linger, and Pebble Beach seemed the furthest thing from his mind at Whistling Straits. When he curled in a 12-footer for birdie on the par-3 17th, he was the outright leader, less than a half-hour from redemption.

But his tee shot on 18 sailed into the gallery lining the right side of the fairway, landing in a small patch of sand that had been walked on, kicked and trampled by thousands of fans over the last week.

Share